Postcard Marketing

Wal-Mart location in Moncton

Image via Wikipedia

I got a two month supply of postcards yesterday and am waiting on tri-folds to arrive any day.  This morning I obtained a list of people in their mid to late 60s in my area that I can mail to an unlimited number of times in the next 12 months.

This afternoon I went to Wal-Mart to get mailing labels, since my supply was depleted and Medicare Open Enrollment starts on Monday.

I guess I will spend the rest of the day pealing names and address labels and affixing them to the post cards that will not fit into my printer.

SEO and Social Media marketing are fine for the younger target markets but if I am to penetrate the senior market I will need to combine older, direct mail marketing with newer e-mail marketing techniques.

The lesson for young insurance agents is, you cannot rely on just one marketing technique to penetrate your market.  You need to use several techniques for multiple points of contact.

For the Medicare market I use, blogging, email, direct mail and word-of-mouth to build that area of my practice.  I can’t afford to rely on just one.

For other markets I use other techniques but my personal focus for 2011 is the Medicare Supplement market.  For group benefit and individual divisions of The Insurance Barn I use other marketing techniques.

One of those techniques is the use of a sales staff for group benefits.  That is more B-2-B marketing and needs someone much younger and not as fat as me 

I got a two month supply of postcards yesterday and am waiting on tri-folds to arrive any day.  This morning I obtained a list of people in their mid to late 60s in my area that I can mail to an unlimited number of times in the next 12 months.

This afternoon I went to Wal-Mart to get mailing labels, since my supply was depleted and Medicare Open Enrollment starts on Monday.

I guess I will spend the rest of the day pealing names and address labels and affixing them to the post cards that will not fit into my printer.

SEO and Social Media marketing are fine for the younger target markets but if I am to penetrate the senior market I will need to combine older, direct mail marketing with newer e-mail marketing techniques.

The lesson for young insurance agents is, you cannot rely on just one marketing technique to penetrate your market.  You need to use several techniques for multiple points of contact.

For the Medicare market I use, blogging, email, direct mail and word-of-mouth to build that area of my practice.  I can’t afford to rely on just one.

For other markets I use other techniques but my personal focus for 2011 is the Medicare Supplement market.  For group benefit and individual divisions of The Insurance Barn I use other marketing techniques.

One of those techniques is the use of a sales staff for group benefits.  That is more B-2-B marketing and needs someone much younger and not as fat as me

About The Insurance Barn

Husband of 1, father of 2, health insurance agent and insurance trainer.
This entry was posted in Marketing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

